NFPA Board of Directors appoints new member to Standards Council

January 31, 2017 – The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Board of Directors has appointed a new member to the NFPA Standards Council: Michael J. Johnston of National Electric Contractors Association (NECA). Johnston is serving a three-year term effective January 1, 2017.

NFPA also announced that current council Chair, Kerry Bell of UL, has been appointed to a second three-year term. Additionally, current members Kenneth Bush of the Maryland State Fire Marshal’s Office and James Quiter of Arup were each reappointed for a second three-year term. Current members Michael Snyder of Dekra Insight and Daniel O’Connor of JENSEN HUGHES were also reappointed for two-year and one-year extensions, respectively. All reappointments began January 1, 2017.

Michael J. Johnston is NECA’s executive director of standards and safety. Johnston holds a BS in Business Management from the University of Phoenix. He is the chairman of the NEC® Correlating Committee, an alternate on NEC CMP-1 (Code-Making Panel), served on NEC CMP-5 from 2000-2010 and served as the Chair from 2008-2010. In addition to his responsibilities for managing codes, standards, and safety functions for NECA, Johnston is secretary of the NECA Codes and Standards Committee and is vice chair of the NFPA Electrical Section.

Throughout his career, Johnston has worked as a journeyman electrician, and as project foreman and superintendent for several major electrical construction projects. He was also employed with the City of Phoenix in the Development Services/Building Safety Department as an electrical inspections field supervisor and gained experience in Electrical Code enforcement both as a senior electrical inspector and field supervisor. Johnston holds all national electrical inspection certifications provided through the IAEI (International Association of Electrical Workers) and has achieved inspector certification through the International Code Council (ICC). He is a member of the IBEW (International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers), ANSI (American National Standards Institute), IAEI, NFPA, SES (The Society for Standards Professionals), ASSE (American Society of Safety Engineers), ANSI-EVSP (ANSI-Electrical Vehicle Standards Panel), ANSI-EESCC (ANSI-Energy Efficient Standardization Coordination Collaborative), the UL (Underwriters Laboratories) Electrical Council and the National Safety Council.

The NFPA Standards Council, a 13-member body appointed by the Board of Directors of NFPA, is charged with overseeing the NFPA codes- and standards-making process. Generally, the duties of the Council include supervising activities related to NFPA codes and standards development, acting as administer of rules and regulations, and serving as an appeals body.

For this release and other announcements about NFPA initiatives, research and resources, please visit the NFPA press room.

About the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
Founded in 1896, NFPA is a global, nonprofit organization devoted to eliminating death, injury, property and economic loss due to fire, electrical and related hazards. The association delivers information and knowledge through more than 300 consensus codes and standards, research, training, education, outreach and advocacy; and by partnering with others who share an interest in furthering the NFPA mission. For more information visit All NFPA codes and standards can be viewed online for free at

RSS Subscribe to NFPA RSS News feeds 

Contact: Lorraine Carli, Public Affairs Office: +1 617 984-7275